2022 Pro Football Hall of Fame ceremony: Who’s in, and how to watch

LeRoy Butler’s official enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame happens today.

2022 Pro Football Hall, Fame ceremony

Former Green Bay Packers defensive back LeRoy Butler will be officially enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, August 6th, starting at noon when the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2022 Enshrinement takes place at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio. The 2022 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement ceremonies and speeches can be viewed on NFL Network and ESPN today.

Butler was among the 15 modern-era finalists for enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. It was the third year in a row that Butler, a Florida State legend, had made it to that stage of potentially entering the NFL Hall of Fame. He was in his 16th year of modern-era eligibility. The call to Canton was long overdue for Butler. Below is the NFL.com blurb on his selection:

LeRoys long wait to leap into the annals of Canton is over. Butler, who spent the duration of his 12-year career with the Green Bay Packers, is in the Hall of Fame in his 16th year of eligibility. A four-time Pro Bowler and first-team All-Pro in Green Bay, Butler was a ball-hawking, hard-hitting safety for the Brett Favre-era Packers. Hes the only player in league history with at least three picks and three sacks in three straight seasons, and one of just six with 30-plus interceptions and 20-plus sacks in his career. A Super Bowl champion and member of the 1990s Hall of Fame All-Decade Team, Butler is also fondly remembered as the creator of the Lambeau Leap, a post-touchdown tradition that will live on in Green Bay as long as Butler is enshrined in Canton, which is to say, now, forever.

That group will be joined by the Pro Football Hall of Fames coach, contributor and senior nominees: Dick Vermeil, Art McNally and Cliff Branch, respectively.

Butler was the lone member of the NFLs 1990s All-Decade Team that had not yet been inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame. He made four All-Pro teams during his 12 seasons with the Packers. During his career, he recorded 38 interceptions and 20.5 sacks in 181 regular season games. He was the first player in NFL history to record 20 interceptions and 20 sacks in a career.

Butler was a three-year letterman at Florida State, earning Consensus All-America honors at cornerback in 1989, before a 12-year NFL career with the Green Bay Packers. The Jacksonville native appeared in 32 games at FSU and recorded 194 tackles, including 3.0 for loss with 1.0 sack, nine interceptions, 14 pass breakups and three forced fumbles. In 1988, he was responsible for the “Puntrooskie” at No. 3 Clemson, gaining 78 yards on a fake punt that set up the Seminoles for a game-winning field goal in the 24-21 victory. His 109 interception return yards at Syracuse in 1989 still stands as FSU’s single-game record, and his seven interceptions that season are tied for fifth on the program’s single-season list. He was elected into the FSU Football Hall of Fame in 2001. 

Four former Seminoles already reside in the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Fred Biletnikoff, Derrick Brooks, Walter Jones, Deion Sanders. With Butlers selection, FSUs five Pro Football Hall of Fame selections are tied for the 11th-highest total among all colleges nationally.

General Top Stories